ROF…minus the L, until now….

My kiddo and her friend were talking about fainting earlier this evening. They asked me if I had ever fainted. I said, “Yup, but only once.”

When I was 12 or so, we lived in the north valley in Albuquerque. It was an awesome little New Mexican style house with arched doorways, built-in bookshelves and no air conditioning! During the summer, me and my little sisters used to sleep in the living room with the front door open. We had a “retro” screen door that was half screen mesh and half tin…at least it sounded tin when we kicked it. It let the cool desert air in and the kept all the wild things contained, like me, my sisters and our cats.

One night, we were sleeping on the floor on a little pallet of blankets and sheets. In the middle of my blissful REM sleep, I heard the screams of our cat outside. Being the instinctual animal caretaker I am, I jumped out of my bed and in one swift move, began running to the door. But, as I ran the world began to spin sideways. I remember the sounds going away and grey speckles taking over my vision….and then….black.

I had fainted.

I had also fainted amidst full momentum towards the tin screen door. Meaning that my body continued to travel at the same “momentous” speed until I slammed into the door!

I awoke in a jumbled mess at the corner of the screen tin and our wooden front door. The horrid sound I made when I landed woke the whole house! My dad found me and kept asking if I was ok.

I had no idea what had happened. I wasn’t hurt. I couldn’t even explain what I was doing on the floor! What makes it even more hilarious is that I don’t even think my cat was outside.

A little dazed and confused, I simply crawled back to my bed and went back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

